This encouragement award was initiated by İKSV in 2015, to support outstanding translations of literary works including poetry, short stories, and novels into Turkish. Named in honor of Talat Sait Halman, Turkey's first culture minister who died in 2014, the Talât Sait Halman Translation Award is given by İKSV ever year since 2015. Halman was also the İKSV's chairman of the board of Trustees from 2008 to 2014.

Literary translations from any language into Turkish, which was published prior to the award year can be submitted and the winning translator is given a monetary award of TL 20,000. The selection committee, chaired by author Doğan Hızlan, and comprising of translator and author Sevin Okyay, translator Ahmet Cemal, author and translator Yiğit Bener, and author and translator Kaya Genç, announces the winner in December.